배진영 (BAE JIN YOUNG) X 김요한 (KIM YO HAN) – I Believe

Ex-Produce idols Bae Jinyoung (from CIX – formerly from Wanna One), and Kim Yohan (formerly from X1, and soon to debut group, WEi) have come together in this unlikely pairing for latest collaboration between Pepsi and Starship Entertainment (which still strikes me as strange considering neither of these artists are actually signed to Starship Entertainment, but I just won’t even attempt to understand).

This song is actually a remake of the 2001 ‘My Sassy Girl’ OST track ‘I Believe‘ by Shin Seung Hun, but it transforms the sombre ballad into a wonderfully refreshing pop track. This revamped version harnesses the feel good power of 80’s retro synth-pop and brings elements of first and second generation KPop into the mix, creating a heart-warming nostalgic sound. The chorus makes full use of the song’s sentimental melodies and chord progressions to match the new genre of the reboot, and the vocal synergy between both Jinyoung and Yohan creates a very reminiscent vibe. Yohan delivers some beautiful, light vocals which blend so well with Jinyoung’s stable and moving tone, and both members produce rap segments, much to my surprise in the case of Jinyoung.

We recently heard from Yohan in his solo release ‘No More‘, however I very rarely get to hear Jinyoung sing apart from the rest of his group. His appearance on this track gave me a whole new appreciation for his vocal talent and tone and I would love to hear more of this kind of energy from him in any solo work he may or may not pursue in the future.

This remake seems to have stirred this deep-rooted feeling from within me. It really places me right back into my teenage years, as a second generation KPop appreciator (although the original was a few years before my KPop discovery, but ‘My Sassy Girl’ is iconic). Both Jinyoung and Yohan’s tones give off a very throwback feel, only even more emphasised by those classic old-skool melodies. The measured energy in this refreshing new version of ‘I Believe’ is extremely infectious whilst managing to hold back enough to not be overwhelming. The entire package is just a nostalgia trip from start to finish and I’m completely here for it. This unexpected pairing has ended up bringing music around full circle, and has gifted some of the long-standing KPop fans out there a bundle of reminiscent joy.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

P.S. Am I the only person that was completely blindsided by Kang Daniel’s appearance in the MV?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started