My Top KPop songs of 2020: #100 – 51

Starting the countdown a little late, but nonetheless – here I am! For this blogs first year end review, I was actually only going to do the years top 50 KPop songs, but as I was creating my list, there were so many songs that I felt TERRIBLE about kicking off the list so, here’s a quick run down of songs 50-100. I’ve shuffled and re-shuffled this more times than I would like to admit but hopefully this is a relatively accurate run down.

As always, I’ve based my decision on title tracks only, even if I like a b-side more (I’ll indicate if there is a must listen b-side though). Also, I’m sure it goes without saying but this is my own personal take on this years KPop releases, and many people will have different music tastes and preferences, so although our lists may differ, it doesn’t necessarily mean that I think any songs are better or worse than others – there are just some that resonated more with me this year than others.


Songs 100-91

100. CLC – Helicopter
99. YooA – Bon Voyage
98. AB6IX – The Answer (actually my favourite AB6IX release this year is Daehwi’s solo song from their 5NALLY album ‘Rose, Scent, Kiss‘ – that song would be a high scorer in itself)
97. Kim Wooseok – Red Moon
96. AgustD – Daechwita
95. Jun.K – 30 Minutes Might Be Too Long
94. IZ*ONE – Fiesta
93. STAYC – So Bad
92. Red Velvet IRENE & SEULGI – Monster
91. ONEWE – End Of Spring

#91: ONEWE – End Of Spring

Even in the lower end of the list we have some of the songs that ended up quite high on my ‘Most listened’ songs for the year (most notably ‘Red Moon’), as well as some songs that had a big impact on me upon release (such as ‘Daechwita’). This just goes to show how strong 2020 was in terms of music, and also begins to illustrates just how tough a task it is for anybody to narrow down a simple list of 10 or 20 tracks!

Songs 90-81

The next ten songs include the solo releases of many of my favourite boy groups – particularly some of the senior groups. The latest ATEEZ release appears relatively low down on the list considering how much I like them, but ‘Inception’ wasn’t my most favourite of their title tracks to date (even though I still listen to it a lot). BOL4’s ‘Leo’ was amongst my most listened to songs of the year, as was ‘Sacrifice’ but found themselves getting bumped down the list sadly. This year I totally fell for AleXa’s ‘Revolution’ and am really looking forward to her releases in the coming year.

Songs 80-71

This is kind of where I started feeling uncertain (and we’re only at #80!) – this set of ten also has some of my most listened to songs of 2020 (‘I’m In Trouble’ and ‘Love Me Harder’) but also some that grew on me more over time (such as ‘Knock’ and ‘Say My Name’). It’s a shame that Astro didn’t make it into my top 50 this year seeing as they’re one of my favourite male groups, but I love that B1A4 are back on my list and that I finally started getting into WEKI MEKI through 2020 as well.

Songs 70-61

The next ten songs gives off more of a senior idol feel than the other sets. Zico’s ‘Any Song’ would have been higher on the list but I feel like I heard it way too much through my entire time in Korea and then subsequently throughout the rest of the year – although it is a song that still makes me feel really good. I adore ONEWE’s ‘Q’ – that song deserves a shout out, as does BOL4’s ‘Dancing Cartoon’ (which features Wonpil from DAY6 in the MV – cute). But most importantly we had BoA marking her 20th anniversary and BTOB making a unit comeback!

Songs 60-51

For the final set, there are a lot of boy group songs on here that I wished would have made it into the top 50 but as I was shuffling the lists, they sadly just got slightly pushed out of view of the final list. VICTON’s ‘Mayday’ was in my top most listened to songs of this year, along with ‘Zombie’, ‘Nostalgia’, and ‘A Song Written Easily’, so each of these deserve a huge shoutout. Meanwhile ‘When We Disco’ is a true firm favourite and marked the start of my disco throwback obsession that took over the second half of 2020.

DIRECTORY: Songs 100 – 51 / Songs 50 – 36 / Songs 35 – 21 / Songs 20 – 1

4 thoughts on “My Top KPop songs of 2020: #100 – 51

  1. LOL our lists are already super different 🤣🤣🤣 (though I think yours will be way more diverse than mine) Looking forward to seeing what the rest looks like!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started