New Music Picks – June 2021

Okay a week after the month’s end – I’m here to bring you my wrap up of new music for the month. I was a little more discerning through June so there were far fewer releases to filter through, but I still had to whittle the list down from 40 songs. I think I actually wrote more reviews in my weekly round-ups meaning that I had less to do at the end of the month. Smart. Okay let’s take a quick look.

Ujoo (유주) – Horangsuwolga (호랑수월가) (2021)

I’m not quite certain about the origins of this song – it would appear that it was the OST track for a series of manhwa books title ‘Tiger My Love’ and a number of people have covered it in the past (?). In any case, this remake (?) marks the debut release for UJoo and the traditional style of the single highlights her impressive vocal tone so well. This is enchanting from start to finish and a favourite from the month. My joint top pick for this month.

swing (그네), CHOI (초이) – Silent Syllable (묵음)

I am not totally well versed with either of these artists though I have seen their names in the past. This combination of artists brings us a truly MAGNIFICENT piano ballad (genuinely – I’m in love with this). The music gives off a magical, almost traditional feeling, while CHOI’s clean, poignant vocal tone rings out effortlessly with power and emotion. This is beautiful. My joint top pick for the month.

Tophyun (탑현) – too late (이제와서)

There weren’t as many heartbreaking ballad songs that blew me away last month (though that might be because it’s the summer no-go zone), but Tophyun’s ‘too late’ slid in right at. the end of the month to knock me off my feet. Not only are the melodies just so painfully emotional, but Tophyun’s raw power confers a feeling of honesty and sincerity with every word. I’m on my third listen today and I’m still choking up. Such a stunning single.

Jade.L – Night Right

What a surprise find for this month from rising musician Jade.L. He has been on the music scene since 2019, but this is the first release to make its mark on me, with indie, R&B, pop and house spheres colliding to make a satisfyingly upbeat single. Jade.L’s mysteriously dreamy vocal adds a layer of mystique to this experimental song, and it is one that keeps me bopping my head from start to finish.

Gyuri (규리), UJoo (유주) – For old times’ sake (내일은 나를 안아줘)

This is the second time I’m recommending UJoo in this article – her voice has clearly won me over. Together with another relatively new artist Gyuri, they bring us a nostalgic mid-tempo pop ballad that reminds me hugely of KPop from the mid 2000’s (I got big ‘Boys Over Flowers’ OST feels). Both vocalists stun with their seamless rendition and together their crisp tones bring this old school sound to life (that bridge!!!).

Cha Ga Eul (차가을), Jang Sae Byeok (장새벽) – Make me cry (나를 울려)

Anyone who has been reading these monthly wrap-ups will notice that I’m a huge fan of a female vocal duo so it’s no wonder that I love this. The track begins sounding a bit like a Disney OST song (might just be me) and progresses with lithe momentum, carrying us into the bridge where the two singers come together in perfect harmony riffing off each other and delivering clear and poignant melodies. This is a song that keeps getting better as it continues.

SUNG SU JIN (성수진), OH BYUNG GIL (오병길) – Still missing you (떠나도 떠난 게 아니야)

If I love a female vocal duo, then I REALLY love a male-female vocal duo, and together Sung Su Jin and Oh Byung Gil give us an impeccable ballad song with ‘Still missing you’. Both vocalists have differing vocal textures but unite in true power through the chorus, packing a huge amount of punch with their striking vocal skills. This is vocal perfection and truly a poignant single.

Boi Brown – Let Me Love You

R&B singer Boi Brown appeared on the scene last year but I haven’t had a chance to listen to his music until stumbling upon this song. This mid-tempo R&B track is so full of groove and momentum that it will be impossible for you not to bounce along with it, and Boi Brown’s smooth R&B vocal is captivating in this track. This song is the exact kind of groovy R&B track that we need more of through the summer.

Jung Yi Han (정이한 (The Nuts)) – Our Memory Is Still (우리의 기억은 멈춰있다)

Jung Yi Han, also a member of The Nuts, has appeared on my radar in the past for his OST tracks but I haven’t ever stopped to listen to his non-OST releases. This pop ballad track struck me as a wonderfully delicate single, blending his pop tone with moving instrumental, allowing the emotion to grow and overspill as the song progresses. One truly delightful single.

Kang yeseul (강예슬) – Paradise (feat. The Brick, Yuk So Hee (육소희), OHZI)

This song is one of many to have been released as part of the ‘SingerProject Season 4‘ album but is the one that stood out so clearly to me for the way that each of the four artists shine for having distinct individual vocal shades but come together to create pure magic in this comforting mid-tempo indie-pop single. This is such a delight to listen to – I need to know more about each of these artists!

clo (클로) – Dancing alone (작당히)

‘Dancing alone’ is the debut single from vocalist clo and this low-tempo indie-R&B track is the perfect backdrop to showcase her stunningly clear and soulful tone. This song oozes gentle tenderness at every turn and will no doubt soothe and charm you through these mellow summer evenings. Looking forward to hearing more from clo in the future!

BLSG (분리수거) – Here I Am (feat. 윤승훈 of SOUNDBOX)

BLSG aren’t new at all, but never have I really taken the time to listen to them. I decided that I would give ‘Here I Am’ a go this time around, drawn in by the scenes of Hongdae in the MV (making me miss the place that I know so well), and I have left feeling extremely pleasantly surprised. This indie-rock track is supported by some fantastic vocals and rousing energy and just feels pretty good all round.

Carey (캐리) – Flying Girl (비행소녀) (2021)

I am not particularly familiar with Carey, but she appears on my radar for her cover of the 2007 single ‘Flying Girl‘ which was originally sung by Magolpy. This refreshed version gives a lighter, crisper feel than the original confers but still retains all of its charm as Carey delivers the well-known melody with such clean and clear precision. This is a well-received remake. Love to hear it.

BB – Bad thoughts (나쁜 생각)

I love a good R&B slow jam and BB delivers the goods in ‘Bad thoughts’, spinning soothing yet seductive melodies into the acoustic instrumental. This is all about sultry atmosphere and BB’s soulful tone, and for me it really hits the mark, sounding like some of my other much loved R&B artists. I think it’s time I gave BB a listen!

Rainbow note – Surface (수면)

Although Rainbow note have been around since 2019, it is this song ‘Surface’ that made me go and check out their discography and I haven’t been disappointed. This indie group is actually a duo (vocalist and keyboardist) but as a total team they bring satisfyingly stable sounds to the forefront, with their instrumentation and vocalist Seulhee’s sweet and engaging tone. This is a nice gateway into some soft indie pop tracks.

One thought on “New Music Picks – June 2021

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started