K-Music Recap: July 5 – 11, 2021

Last week was weird – a lot of single releases and not quite as many full comebacks, but there was some interesting new stuff floating around. Let’s see what gripped me last week (TL;DR: it was mostly the indie stuff).

Disclaimer: I haven’t been able to write about every single release, but I do try to at least provide a link to the key songs released over the week. However in recent weeks, I have decided. to only recommend up to ten additional songs from each genre that I feel are not to be missed – otherwise these lists would go on forever. It is entirely likely that I will have missed many – drop me a comment with any tracks from the past week that you think I should not miss.

KPop

BTS (반탕소년단) – Permission to Dance

MV note: Why is it always my bias that has tennis ball green hair? It’s just such a choice…. Hobi looks incredible though. Also I know that the message of the song is not to stop dancing, or stop feeling joyful through this pandemic, because in the end it will be over and we can dance freely…… but on the surface it really seems like they’re advocating mask-off sentiments during a pandemic and the possible misunderstanding is risky.

Following the successes of ‘Dynamite‘ and ‘Butter’ (review here), BTS are back with another English language single in ‘Permission To Dance’, hoping to monopolise on the rousing success that they have been building internationally. This new song was co-written by Ed Sheeran, and considering that I think that Ed is beginning to make bland music (my Dad said it first and he’s right about everything), it is no surprise that some of it rubs off here. Don’t get me wrong, I find the sweet, optimistic chorus quite catchy and endearing but, I’ve said it a thousand times before, if I wanted to listen to Western pop music, I wouldn’t be listening to KPop. This is just straight-down-the-middle safe – not subversive enough for my tastes, riddled with the chief offender of the HYBE autotune, and…. whatever happened to our rap line? Are we just going to forget that BTS are blessed with some skilled, exuberant rappers? ‘Permission To Dance’ isn’t what I thought they would carry on with in their immediate future, but it still brings joy and happiness worldwide. I have to give BTS credit here – they really have surpassed the KPop limits, because this isn’t KPop anymore, this is full on Western pop – and that’s okay, as long as everyone knows it.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

SF9 – Tear Drop

MV note: Taeyang was mad for this one on the choreography – beautiful (and Chani, but he always is)

Rolling straight off the back of their appearance on ‘Kingdom: Legendary War’, SF9 are the first group to have dropped an album since appearing on the show, building on the attention gained during their fight for the crown. Given the strong, powerful and impactful stages that we saw during their time on the show, I was a little surprised that their comeback song ‘Tear Drop’ was as minimalist as it is. Of course, SF9 are the kings of this sophisticated suave, so it is natural that they would bring more of this slinky rhythm back to the forefront again, monopolising on the image that they have built for themselves – they pull it off well, as always, but for a summer title track, it almost leaves me wanting. The song is extremely cohesive and well pulled together, and even the verses land with perfection (not sure about the autotune on Hwiyoung in the bridge though), but there is something about the bizarre chorus hook that feels a little lacking – though it is likely this will find itself growing on me since I have already found it to be a better, more memorable listen than I did at at the start of last week.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Favourite of the new songs from the album [TURN OVER]: [Believer] / Off My Mind / Fanatic / Hey Hi Bye

KYUHYUN (규현) – Together (투게더)

Other ‘PROJECT : 季’ songs: 2020 Summer Edition “Dreaming” 🌻; 2020 Autumn Edition “Daystar” 🍂; 2021 Winter Edition “Moving On” ❄; 2021 Spring Edition “Coffee” ☕

MV note: Gong Myung AGAIN? Is he stalking Kyuhyun’s MV’s? I find his appearances really unsettling for my heart ㅠㅠ

Kyuhyun (Super Junior) is back with another instalment in his seasonal project ‘季’. I was a little surprised actually because I thought he would have finished this project after the fourth release, but here we are with song number five – the 2021 Summer song, and it really does give off quite summery vibes. Through this series, Kyuhyun has shown us exactly the breadth of his skills, from ballad to pop, and ‘Together’ is the sweetest kind of pop. The delicate summer sounds perfectly frame Kyuhyun’s hugely distinctive vocals and allows him to show a range of dynamics through his delivery. Kyuhyun’s tone conveys a sense of comfort and calm, regardless of what the genre of music is, and that definitely comes across here, bringing a smile to my face with every listen, but it also feels a little too much like dalkom coffee music, so I’m unsure if this will have the same longevity as last year’s summer song ‘Dreaming‘ did (though Kyuhyun’s songs always find a way to bury their way into my heart since he’s one of my favourite vocalists of all time). A lovely listen – I’m still smiling.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

TAEYEON (태연) – Weekend

MV note: This is such an aesthetic treat – I really want her peach/orange skirt suit – probably costs my entire life savings

Friends – I am happy. Don’t get me wrong, I love a Taeyeon ballad as much as most (hearing her sing one live was game-changing), but I most definitely connect with Taeyeon’s music more when she brings us a pop jam – I just think she brings out more of her personality and Girls Generation charm with a more upbeat style. Although city pop seems to be falling out of favour, the release of the disco funk single ‘Weekend’ is a welcome addition in my books. This is light, breezy and brisk, and full of sweet, delightful melodies that Taeyeon’s engaging vocal tone carries with absolute ease. The sing-rap sequence in the second verse was a total surprise and really helped to build nice dynamic change into the song as well as highlighting how versatile an artist Taeyeon really can be. Although I really like this song, I also can’t help but see stylistic similarities between ‘Weekend’ and IU’s ‘LILAC’ (review here) – city pop is a female soloist’s safe zone right now. Of course both songs are seeing huge popularity so this is what the Korean public want but I also feel like popular vocalists like Taeyeon and IU shouldn’t really be treading similar waters within the same year. In any case, this will be livening up some chilled summer playlists for me.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Moon Jong Up (문종업) – US

MV note: I’ve really missed his smile and his dancing (those spins) – this MV is a bit of a blessing

In the previous week, Jongup (of B.A.P fame) dropped the pre-release track ‘Find (feat Moon Sujin) (mini review here) to build interest in advance of the release of his first mini album ‘US’ and title track of the same time. I was definitely intrigued by the smooth R&B sounds of the pre-release so was almost blindsided by the release of this easy-listening pop track (but of course, Jongup is a dancing king so needs something with a little more rhythm to show off his entire breadth of skills). ‘US’ is a nice song and I appreciate the consistent construction and Jongup’s familiar vocals, however it doesn’t really pop out at me, just feeling pleasant but not really wowing me. Some of the B-sides on his album do a better job at that (‘GOUP’ for example – that would have been a banger of a title track), but alas we still get a sweet mid-tempo pop to fit the subtle summer. On the whole this is a nice song with a catchy chorus but sadly might not be one of the most memorable from the week, though I’ll be revisiting the B-sides a lot I think.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Favourite songs from the album [I Got A Feeling]: Photo (feat. Bang Yongguk) / GOUP (feat. EK) / HEADACHE (feat. YUNHWAY)

MINZY (공민지) – TEAMO

Minzy of 2NE1 fame is back, over a year after her previous release (if we’re discounting her Tagalog single – still screaming in Filipino), with new single ‘TEAMO’, a mid-tempo Latin-inspired pop song (I mean, other than the rhythm, lyrics and the occasional instrumental flourish, it’s actually more akin to regular KPop sounds). This upbeat vibe is a switch-up from her last release ‘Lovely’ and allows her to show off more of her well-polished idol skills, pairing her recognisable vocals with exuberant choreography and rousing energy. ‘TEAMO’ isn’t a fresh, exciting sound – we’ve heard this kind of pop song a thousand times in the past – but it is a consistent and cohesive single and full of lithe summery movements, sprucing up the season with sultry energy. Minzy’s tone is the perfect match for this song, and her sing-rap in the second verse just brings the music to life even more. This might be one of the few songs to energise my summer so far, and I’m here for it, even if it might get lost among the other Latin-inspired songs after this.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

DAY6 (Even of Day) – Right Through Me (뜷고 지나가요)

MV note: The aesthetics of this MV are stunning – right up my street. Give these boys an acting award – Wonpil’s tears, heartbreaking

DAY6’s three member subunit Even of Day are back to fill our DAY6 void with another album ‘Right Through Me’ and title track of the same name. Although retaining some of their recognisable DAY6 sound profile, Even of Day bring a distinct twist to their music by adding in synthesised keys and moving away from the larger than life pop-rock sound and more into solidified indie spheres. Even of Day definitely bring us music that sounds original and true to themselves – still retaining those phenomenal vocal shades (Young K and Wonpil really bringing all the passion), but this slower tempo and delicate emotion almost feels out of sync with summer expectations. That doesn’t make this any less of a well composed and genuine song, but it does mean that I find myself going back to it less frequently than I initially thought. Having said that, some of the B-sides on the album are a little more experimental and upbeat, and really drive the distinction between DAY6 and this sub-unit home, so it certainly gives a better indication of this subunit’s skills. I’m here for any DAY6 content in fairness.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Favourite songs from the album [Right Through Me]: WE / Right Through Me / WALK / from the ending of a tragedy /

JEON SOYEON (전소연) – BEAM BEAM (삠삠)

MV note: This MV was unexpectedly so cute and Soyeon looks incredible. I love that she picks a fight with Youngji

Skilled songwriter and producer Soyeon, also the leader of popular girl group (G)I-DLE, has made her solo return with single ‘BEAM BEAM’ and mini album ‘Windy’, and given that she is behind some of (G)I-DLE’s best tracks, the news couldn’t have been any more intriguing. ‘BEAM BEAM’ sees Soyeon bring us a totally different style of music to her group’s sound, opting for charismatic, upbeat pop, treading the line between saccharine pop melodies, and vivacious hip-hop textures. The arrangement of the song is, itself, ambitious and interesting, but the delivery just doesn’t totally land itself in my court. This is purely because I find that Soyeon’s unique vocal tone doesn’t gel particularly well with this style of bright, bouncy song, coming across as a bit shouty (other songs on the album exemplify how her vocals are suited to other styles). However, I cannot fault her on her songwriting skill (the verses are really great, though the hook in the chorus could be a little more developed in my opinion), nor her exuberant energy, which she possesses in huge amounts. My feelings towards this song are quite similar to my feelings towards some Hyuna tracks – I get drawn into the energy in the moment, but then I may not listen to it much after the promotional period is over.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Favourite songs from the album [Windy]: Weather / Psycho / Is this bad b****** number? (feat. BIBI, Lee Youngji)

Other notable releases

KIM WOOJIN (김우진) – Still Dream
THE BOYZ – Drink It
YEBIN (DIA) – Yes I Know

Kim Woojin, formerly of Stray Kids, has had a turbulent relationship with public opinion since his departure (I have no clue what to make of this) but is now attempting to forge his path alone. ‘Still Dream’ is listed as a pre-debut track, and gives us a teaser of what is to come. The composition gives off inspirational anthem vibes, which Woojin tries to match with his vocals, bringing delightful melodies that are easy on the ears. The song does sound like a lot of other Western pop songs which is its biggest downfall as it doesn’t feel particularly novel, but I definitely liked it more than I thought I would. I am very interested to see what will come for Woojin in the future. [Also, I feel like Taemin has worn every single one of these outfits before but in differing styles].

These ‘Universe’ app songs are really ramping up – now we’re getting a new one every week! The next on the roster are The Boyz, and ‘Drink It’ marks their first release since their appearance on ‘Kingdom: Legendary War’. The group have been playing with dark concepts since ‘Road To Kingdom’ and this new, hauntingly mysterious style is certainly a better fit for them. They manage to make an impact through lithe percussion and the members’ captivating delivery, gaining momentum and energy as the song progresses. This song is actually the best of the ‘Universe’ bunch and I’m a little bit sad that it’s not a proper release, because it also might be the best KPop song of week. The MV too (!!) I need to see the full version ASAP.

What is going on with DIA please? I genuinely want to know. In any case, I’m so glad to see Yebin bringing out solo music now – she has been missed. ‘Yes I Know’ is your typical sweet and delicate coffee shop type song, but it gives off really wonderful acoustic summer sounds to really match the season. This style is the perfect fit for Yebin’s soft and tender vocals, the gentle instrumental paving the way for Yebin to charm us with her endearing melodies. During this season, I am a lot more receptive to these kinds of sweet dalkom coffee songs than I normally would be, but I often find that I don’t always return to them as much as I would like to. I hope that I do with ‘Yes I Know’ because it genuinely brings a sense of comfort with every listen.

GIRLKIND – Good Vibes Only (이 분위기에 취해)
BXK – Excuse Me (비켜라)
BOYHOOD (남동현) – Rain (비) (feat. Kisum)

I haven’t really been keeping up with GIRLKIND’s music of late, but new single ‘Good Vibes Only’ is impossible to ignore. The smooth, slinky summer sound brings a sense of retro ease with its synths and mid-tempo pacing, and the bright vocals of the members keep the melodies moving with endearing ease. Once again, this isn’t anything we haven’t heard before, and in fact is a genre that is difficult to make transformative, but even with the slightly unpolished feel, it is still a single with a lot of appeal and a composition that makes for easy-listening.

BXK make their first ever comeback with new song ‘Excuse Me’ – the English title of this is a lot more polite than the Korean title – the Korean title is more like “MOVE OUT OF THE WAY”, and the way that it is shouted repeatedly in the chorus comes across as a little offensive in context and musically. There are some promising rap sequences in here and a stunning pre-chorus, but that second part of the chorus feels lazy and unappealing. The group show some good qualities in here but it’s packaged up rather messily and without much of a hook. Not for me.

Ex-South Club member (and brother of Nam Taehyun), BOYHOOD is back with another indie-pop song, sticking with what he knows best by showing us both his instrumental and vocal skills. By doing so, he brings us a soothing mid-tempo track that is certainly a relaxing listen. The entirety of the song floats dreamily along, with Donghyun’s vocals spinning gentle melodies, only jolting into a different style with Kisum adding in an unexpected rap. This is a nice, comforting listen and one that certainly keeps Donghyun’s sound feeling more genuine and natural.

K-R&B/Hip-Hop

punchnello – BACK

OLNL (오르내림) – ZERO% (feat. YUNHWAY, Giriboy)

Trigger Warnings : guns. animal cruelty, blood

punchnello is back with new album ‘Demon Youth’, an album full of short and rapid tracks – most galloping along with determined and headstrong energy. This entire album comes off as a fresh change and I quite like that for punchnello, but also it is a little intense in places. Title track ‘BACK’ is one of the friendlier of the bunch, even though it still gives off anxious vibes, but strangely it works. The steady pacing of the track and the dedicated instrumental keeps the vibe feeling frenetic, while punchnello’s powerful rap adds to the strong nature of the track. Although this impresses me, and the hook is pretty catchy, the track follows the same route from start to finish meaning that it feels like there is little dynamic change or texture change, but it is still a great song to pump yourself up to.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Favourite songs from the album [Demon Youth]: Yellow tape / Boy In The Mirror (feat. Kidd King) / Chopsticks / Mayday

Rapper ONL is back with full length album ’19 Available’, a collection of songs which includes the previously released singles ‘PAPI (feat. Soovi)’ (mini review here) and ‘Newbie’ (mini review here). OLNL follows on from these previous singles, bringing together rap with melody and indie-driven instrumentation in this GRAY production. OLNL’s distinctive tone flits effortlessly from intricate rap flows to an addictive and instantly memorable chorus hook, while featuring artists YUNHWAY and Giriboy add their own personal twists to the track to make this a killer single with the WEDAPLUGG sound stamped all over it. This song and OLNL’s entire album is exactly the kind of rap that I want to be listening to this season – it’s a breath of fresh air. Also is this MV an entire Sprite sponsorship or something?

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Favourite of the new songs from the album [19 Available]: Ding Dong (feat. Lovey) / ZERO% (feat. YUNHWAY. Giriboy) / Don’t Like It / Like It / Spelling (feat. meenoi)

Other notable releases

ASH ISLAND, GroovyRoom – Carabiner (잡아줄게)
jeebanoff – LEAVE ME.
HYOLYN (효린) – To Find A Reason (없던 이유) (feat. Mad Clown, Kim Seungmin)

Popular rapper ASH ISLAND has teamed up with the famed production duo GroovyRoom to bring us this emotional hip-hop track, with anthemic chorus energy. This song really hits me right in the feels with its rousing energy (GroovyRoom are great at producing songs like this) so much so that even ASH ISLAND’s overused autotune sounds stylistic to me. The one part of this song that is a let down is that the second verse is made up of one word only, repeated over and over, and that word is ‘Carabiner’. To me it comes across as lazy writing and gets a little ridiculous after the first five mentions. Aside from that, I kind of like it.

R&B singer jeebanoff is back with new album ‘VOID.’ and double title track release ‘LEAVE ME.’ and ‘HELLO.’, an album which also contains previously released single ‘I MEAN I MEAN.’ (mini review here). jeebanoff’s delightful tone feels light and bouncy on ‘LEAVE ME.’, an upbeat, sprightly instrumental, that certainly brings happy vibes with it (contrary to what the song is actually about), but the vocals sound a little dampened and distant here, making connection to the song harder. ‘HELLO.’ comparatively is closer to the style I like from jeebanoff, feeling more soulful and atmospheric in places, but this vocal dampening really is rife here.

Hyolyn had yet to bring us a release this year, so the arrival of ‘To Find A Reason’ was a true gift. This sorrowful R&B ballad really highlights the beauty of Hyolyn’s voice, bringing endless amounts of emotion with her stunning vocal tone and soothing melodies. Mad Clown adds his recognisable rap stylings to the second verse, and something about his determined flow, moves my heart. My favourite part of this song is on Seungmin’s bridge, where Hyolyn adds doubling to his rap, spiralling into an emotional sensation and one that really chokes me up. This is a beautiful song with a moving melody, and each of the three artists totally nail it.

San E, Raina (After School) – A Midsummer Night’s Sweetness: Summer Again
Wonstein (원슈타인) – When Night Is Falling (밤이 되니까)
JAEHA (재하) – MOVIE ii

[Technically this should be in pop but… I ran out of space]. Rapper San E and Raina from After School are back with a remake version of their 2014 song ‘A Midsummer Night’s Sweetness‘. This 2021 ‘Summer Again’ version was made for BRANDNEW MUSIC’s Ten Project and brings a slightly crisper, brighter feel to the original but, on the whole this largely feels exactly the same. Remaking a song in almost the same way always strikes me as a little odd, but it is nice to have some of these old school classics back in rotation. As with the original, this is a really nice, chilled addition to the summer, with San E’s sing-rap style matching this pop sound really well. It’s sweet.

Everyone’s favourite (genuinely) Wonstein is here with a cover of Punch’s wonderful 2018 song ‘When Night Is Falling‘ and truthfully, he completely knocks it out of the park. His unique tone puts a distinctive mark on anything he turns his hand to, bringing an honest and raw rendition with him. The insertion of his recognisable rap flow in a newly written outro, in place of Punch’s whisper rap, helps to put his own twist on the song and really makes the song his own. This slow and tender R&B track is the perfect lullaby and will likely be often played in this household. I just think Wonstein makes absolute magic with that voice of his and he really does this song justice.

News Flash: Jaeha signed with Daytona Entertainment (founded by Yumdda and The Quiett)! Jaeha had been making music independently before appearing on ‘High School Rapper 4’, and now he has joined hands with his mentors who will certainly give him the guidance and support he deserves (this kid is talented!). New single ‘MOVIE ii’ is the follow up to the first part from last year, and still retains all of that youthful passion that Jaeha is known for. This pop-rock instrumental makes this a really mainstream song, which Jaeha adds his familiar rap flows to, resulting in an appealing radio-friendly track. Even the autotune sounds fine (hah!)

K-Indie

NELL – Glow in the dark

Peppertones – FILM LOVE (feat. Stella Jang)

I don’t normally do a main review for an OST song (this is an OST for ‘X2: Eclipse’, which is actually a mobile game) but this is NELL we’re talking about and NELL deserves a proper write up. This iconic alt rock group bring us another epic (as to be expected) in the form of all-English single ‘Glow in the dark’. The mystifying verses are only enhanced by Jongwan’s immediately recognisable vocals, while the group’s rousing, high-energy chorus feels like an anime ED. This is the perfect accompaniment to a game (or any OST for that matter) as it is full of bold, statement charisma that energises listeners from the moment that they hit play. This is the kind of rock that I need more of in my life, and NELL are always here to deliver.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Loveable indie duo Peppertones are back with their first official release in quite some time (if we exclude their songs for Yoo Hee Yeol’s Sketchbook and OST tracks, their last official release was in 2016), and they return with sprightly new single ‘FILM LOVE’. The brisk, optimistic instrumentation, characterised by rapid key strokes and steady percussion, brings endless amounts of joy, while the introduction of synth flourishes on this track give a slight retro energy. The pair craft hopeful melodies with both their music and with their vocals, while the inclusion of Stella Jang’s indie tone creates mysticism and texture change through the body of the song. ‘FILM LOVE’ is pure happiness through and through – I didn’t know I needed this in my life.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

K-Ballad

Baek Z Young (백지영), Lee Hong Gi (이홍기) – Can I Love Again(다시 사랑할 수 있을까)

Choi Wooshik (최우식) – Poom (품) (feat. Peakboy)

This vocal duet will absolutely knock you off your feet – the strength and passion behind both of these voices is truly phenomenal, and I promise you will feel it as soon as you hit play. Honggi (of FTISLAND fame) brings his distinctive rock vocal to this ballad track, kicking the song off with his unique style, bringing a more contemporary feel to the classic ballad instrumental. As legendary Baek Z Young joins him, her clear and crisp vocal tone strikes straight to the heart, lending a stable support to Honggi’s raw and realistic vocal. The balance in textures between these two vocalists is delicate but perfect, bringing both grit and emotion in huge amounts, as well as an impressive amount of power notes.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

My all-round favourite guy Choi Wooshik dropped a song with his best friend Peakboy and all of us have been stunned – I mean…. the only other times he has sung were for OST’s. Well here he is spinning a sweet little ballad with his delicate voice – and his acting skills help to build emotion into his delivery. Peakboy adds his honey-toned R&B vocals and ad libs to smooth over the track. I won’t lie, the instrumental gives me old school karaoke vibes (exacerbated by the fact that Peakboy starts flipping through a karaoke book in the background of the MV) so I almost can’t even take it seriously, but it is big time cute. Peakboy swaying in the background made me laugh so much – it’s like your supportive friend at karaoke.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Other notable releases

Dauri (다우리), JI JIN SEOK (지진석) – If We Were (그때의 우리가 지금이었다면)
Loco (로꼬), Lee Sung Kyung (이성경) – Love (Prod. Rocoberry)
DECEMBER – You mean everything (그댄 내사람이죠)

I don’t really know anything about Dauri (I had a sneaky look on Naver and have only figured out that they are a songwriter), but they composed this fantastic ballad ‘If We Were’ and invited Ji Jinseok to lay down the vocals. I am a big Jinseok fan, I think his voice is lovely, and with this ballad, he only proves that he is getting better and better every time. This ballad serves up beautiful melodies, and tonnes of emotion and Jinseok delivers the message of the music with such clarity and control. Even though there might not be as many wow moments in there, this might be one of my favourite ballads this year.

[This isn’t really a ballad but it also kind of is a pop ballad….] Popular rapper Loco teamed up with famed artist Lee Sung Kyung on new single ‘Love’ which was produced by indie duo Rocoberry. The instrumental is your typical indie-pop ballad, but Loco really helps to bring it to life with his recognisable rap tone and flow (he can genuinely rap to anything… I’m convinced), while Sung Kyung softly sings the chorus melody and bridge with her delicate vocal tone. This is a lovely listen, but I mostly find myself gripped through Loco’s inventive flow rather than the actual chorus hook itself. Neat and sweet.

DECEMBER is back with new single ‘You mean everything’ which is something of an indie ballad track, blending slightly livelier instrumentation with typical ballad vocal melodies. This song seems to be puzzling fans worldwide (I too was puzzled) as many of us saw the DECEMBER name and expected DK and Yoonhak’s voice, only to be greeted by a different vocalist. Nonetheless, whoever this is brings a wealth of passion and feeling with every word, and adds a certain nostalgia through this song’s composition. I don’t understand why they insist on keeping the DECEMBER name alive though.

OST Links

Voice 4 (보이스 4)

KLANG – No way to go

Nevertheless (알고있지만)

J.UNA (제이유나) – Butterfly

Monthly Magazine Home (월간 집)

John Park – Here I Am

My Roommate is a Gumiho (간 떨어지는 동거)

Youngjae (GOT7) & Soyeon (LABOUM) – You & I (그대와)

Hospital Playlist 2 (슬기로운 의사생활 2)

TWICE – I Love You More Than Anyone (누구보다 널 사랑해)

You Are My Spring (너는 나의 봄)

Raiden – In ruin

At a Distance, Spring Is Green (멀리서 보면 푸른 봄)

HUSKI – Then and Now

Also check out:

Seo Young Eun (서영은) – Sunshiny Day | Webdrama: Starting Point of Dating (연애시발.(점))
A.C.E – SPARK | Webdrama: Light On Me (새빛남고 학생회)
ATEEZ – DREAMERS | Anime: Digimon Adventures (Japanese release)
Noel – Clockwise (시계추) | Webtoon: The Girl Downstairs (이두나!)

Header image credit: HYBE Entertainment; Racket Boys image credit: SCMP; Voice 4 image credit: Soompi; Nevertheless image credit: Yahoo Style UK; Monthly Magazine Home image credit: OtakuKart; My Roommate is a Gumiho image credit: Decider; Hospital Playlist 2 image credit: Finance Rewind; You Are My Spring image credit: Decider; At a Distance, Spring is Green image credit: Soompi; Revolutionary Sisters image credit: Soompi.

3 thoughts on “K-Music Recap: July 5 – 11, 2021

  1. Great points on BTS honestly, the mask-off thing rubbed me the wrong way too.

    God, I got jumped online for saying Weekend reminds me a bit of Lilac lmao. Not fun but I’m glad I’m not the only one obviously.

    I agree with you on most of these! Day6 EOD album ended up being a major grower for me, b-sides are where it’s at. I’m I’m mentally preparing myself for upcoming enlistment and the possibility of the group not renewing with JYPE so I’m like you know what, imma take what I can get at this point lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg glad I’m not the only one who thought that about the mask-off thing – I worried I was being the awkward fun police hahah

      eyyyyy what… but Weekend and Lilac have similar vibes, it’s not a bad thing, it just is what it is (sorry you got jumped – now living in fear)

      I need to give DAY6 EOD more of a listen because there were definitely some great songs on there! THE FUTURE OF DAY6 IS SO UNCERTAIN AND I HATE IT HERE

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started