My Top 10 KPop debuts of 2020

This year, more than most, I have been paying significant attention to newly debuting groups, and this year, also more than most, I have been obscenely impressed with the strength and calibre of these groups (a lot of boy groups this year – or is that just me?). Here are my top 10 KPop debuts of 2020 (plus you can find my list of notable existing idols who also made solo debuts below).

Just a reiteration, this is just my own opinion and the ranking doesn’t actually mean very much. I chose to base my choices on my thoughts of the debut single, rather than any subsequent releases. How many of these do you agree with, and who else has caught your eye this year?


10. TREASURE

Debut date: August 7, 2020
Debut song: BOY

I tried so hard to keep away from the TREASURE hype last year, but the minute I heard this debut song I was sold. ‘BOY’ monopolises on what YG do best (edgy synth and chant-style sounds) but blends it with a fresh pop vibe, so I came away from my first listen saying “WHY DO I LIKE THIS SO MUCH?” It is certainly not a wild card release like other YG debuts, but it just has immediate appeal on multiple levels. Since their debut I’ve been a bit on the fence about subsequent releases but I can’t forget how the first listen of this song made me feel.

9. aespa

Debut date: November 17, 2020
Debut song: Black Mamba

As an SM ‘fan’, I have been waiting for this day with huge expectations and ‘Black Mamba’ certainly demonstrated once again that SM know how to debut a group. aespa’s members burst onto the scene with an impactful single and an extremely well-put together vocal profile, giving off a hugely professional vibe that could have you questioning whether they were actually rookies or not. I feel like we haven’t quite heard enough from them yet but their debut track and reputation marks an exciting path ahead.

8. BAE173

Debut date: November 19, 2020
Debut song: Crush on U

I could not have foreseen the creation of this group, but I am so glad they exist. Their bright, colourful vibe is the perfect injection that KPop needs at the moment. Most debuting boy groups opt for edgy concepts but BAE173 keep their boyish charm as the take us through some electrifying melodies. I love their energy and am just delighted that X1 members Hangyul and Dohyun get to be part of an exciting new unit that can allow them to explore more of their fun sides once more.

7. GHOST9

Debut date: September 23, 2020
Debut song: Think Of Dawn

I was overwhelmed with how impactful this debut was – I wasn’t quite expecting this kind of concept for MAROO’s new boy group, especially after being already familiar with the cute young side of some of the members. ‘Think Of Dawn’ happens to be one of the songs that is constantly stuck in my head and that is all down to how much of a statement sound the group are aiming to develop, and I feel like they only have bigger and bolder sounds awaiting them in their future.

6. STAYC

Debut date: November 12, 2020
Debut song: So Bad

This is a group that I had very little prior knowledge or expectations of and was blown away by their energetic electro-pop debut. The addictive, uptempo sound toes the line between bright pop and edgy girl crush vibes, and it is a track that feels refreshing amongst a sea of EDM-fuelled girl group songs. The members’ balance between beautifully clear vocals and deep rap tones, coupled with their infectious charisma has me excited for more vibrant, show-stopping releases with STAYC.

5. Lee Eunsang

Debut date: August 31, 2020
Debut song: Beautiful Scar (feat. Woojin from AB6IX)

Although Eunsang debuted as part of the (sadly) ill-fated group X1 last year, he made his anticipated solo debut in the latter part of the summer and his edgy single pretty much drove me through the subsequent few months. The mysterious tone of ‘Beautiful Scar’ along with his enticingly fresh vocals feel like the right combination for his debut track, and really highlight his skills in ways that he hasn’t always been able to show. I am now just eagerly awaiting BRAND NEW MUSIC’s decision for his promising future.

4. DRIPPIN

Debut date: October 28, 2020
Debut song: Nostalgia

Out of all bad things (X1 disbandment) must come some good – and this configuration is ALL good. Their debut song and album is every bit what I expect from a top calibre Woolim production, but brings a vibrant electro pop sound that bridges the gap between INFINITE and Golden Child. This group are blessed with some impeccable vocalists and a presence that feels refined and seasoned (plus, each of the members have improved so much over the past year) – I’m BEYOND impressed with DRIPPIN..

3. ENHYPEN

Debut date: November 30, 2020
Debut song: Given-Taken

Despite telling myself not to get stuck into I-LAND (the survival competition show that formed this group), I have somehow fallen quite deep into an ENHYPEN hole and that is pure credit to the group’s addictive sound and impeccable performances. ENHYPEN’s entire debut album has had me hooked this past month – their sound feels mature and well thought out for a brand new group, but particularly a group of their age. How can a debut be THIS strong and so neat? Incredible.

2. LUCY

Debut date: May 8, 2020
Debut song: Flowering (개화)

I credit the creation of this blog for finding this band – had I not been so methodical about my approach to listening to music this year (attempting to cover every release), I might have missed the band that has brought me so much happiness this year. LUCY were the runners up on JTBC audition show ‘SuperBand’, and following a minor line-up change, the group debuted, bringing us their exhilarating indie pop sound, with stunning violin flourishes. Theirs is a sound to add brightness and joy to each of my days.

1. CRAVITY

Debut date: April 14, 2020
Debut song: Break All The Rules

The debut of this group couldn’t have come any sooner for me. Much like with DRIPPIN, I was eagerly anticipating the debut of these Starship boys following the X1 disbandment, and CRAVITY’s debut has certainly not disappointed one bit. I have been extremely impressed with the breadth of their discography and sound so far and how polished each and every stage is, not to mention just how adorably appealing their personalities are. Totally rooting for these kids and looking forward to what twist in their sound may come next.

Special mention: TOO almost made it into slot number 10, but TREASURE just got the spot. I just wanted to hype up TOO over here quickly because ‘Magnolia‘ is a pretty strong debut track and I SERIOUSLY love that chorus.

N.B. I’m low key mad at myself that I don’t love Secret Number’s debut track ‘Who Dis?‘ as much as their second single because otherwise they would have made it on the list too and we wouldn’t be looking at such a boy group heavy list – but there you go.


Other notable debuts of the year

SUPERFIVE

I actually would have put them in my top 10 but it didn’t really feel right, mostly because 60% of the group are members of existing idol groups, and they’re also technically not KPop. But anyway, SUPERFIVE are a trot project group that have only brought brightness and joy to my life over the past few months and although I knew we weren’t going to have them forever, it still makes me sad to know that their time together has been far too short since Hui will be enlisting in the military very soon. I have been happy whilst we could have them though.

Ong Seong Wu

I’m not joking when I say this is one of my most listened to songs of this year, and that surprises EVEN ME. I wasn’t even aware that he was making his solo debut back in March, but I just stumbled upon the album on Spotify and it was the beginning of a beautiful love story with this song. I ADORE it, and I’m so glad to see him keeping active with his music as well as his acting these days.

Wonho

You all don’t need to rehear how this song made me feel – I wrote about it in a fluster HERE – but I have been both overwhelmed and overjoyed to have Wonho’s solo activities in our lives. I was devastated when he left Monsta X but his solo album has been far more than I could have hoped for and he truly shines, demonstrating just how talented an artist he is. What an impressive solo debut.

Changmin

My favourite member of TVXQ! made his long overdue solo debut just this year, but all the waiting meant nothing when we got the special treat that was ‘Chocolate’. The song, as well as the album, feels like an extension of the TVXQ! sound but with his own personal twist. He shows numerous shades to his sound and his number of years of experience as an artist really comes through as he fills the entire track with power and confidence. Gosh, this song is just so good, but really, what did I expect? It’s Changmin.

Kai

My EXO-L heart REJOICED for KOLO (Kai solo), and this is an album that surpassed even my high expectations. Kai covered all bases with this debut album, showcasing his alluring vocal shade that we often get little opportunity to hear, and packaging it up in a softer, sultry sound that shows off a different side to him. I couldn’t have been prouder to hear him shine out on his own – he totally deserves this.

Suho

The year of EXO solo debuts – EXO leader Suho finally made his solo debut this year and it was nothing short of breathtaking, much like his voice. I had the absolute pleasure of seeing his musical at the start of this year (pre-COVID *cries*) and remarked “His voice is even better than I know it as” and that is exactly how I felt on this solo album – he gets the opportunity to show even more of his vocal shades than usual and it is a stunning gift. I just wish it wasn’t immediately followed by his enlistment (I MISS HIM).

Lee Suhyun

Suhyun of AKMU made her solo debut this year with such a fun vibrant track, quite different to the sound that she usually makes with her brother. Her debut single has a groove that is immediately infectious and a complete joy to listen to. Although I love the way that the siblings of AKMU’s voices work in combination, this solo has allowed Suhyun to have a little more fun and I’m totally here for it.

Han Seungwoo

Seungwoo of VICTON (and X1) made his solo debut earlier this year, much to my delight, and although I was already sold on his abilities as a hugely impressive vocalist and stable rapper, I was still taken aback by just how impactful his solo debut was, especially after seeing softer sides to him through his X1 journey. I’m glad that Seungwoo is getting the opportunity to stand out and show his breadth of skills, and I can’t wait to see how he and VICTON move forwards in the near future!


Header image = CRAVITY, and belongs to MAMA (Mnet)

6 thoughts on “My Top 10 KPop debuts of 2020

  1. StayC took me by surprise as well, So Bad ended up being my probably favourite group debut this year! Love your picks, honestly I’m hoping that Treasure leave the whole hard-trap/hard-instrumental style and go back to something like Going Crazy or even Boy.

    The soloists this year really shined so much! I’m the same as you when it comes to Kai’s debut, I had high expectations and yet he surpassed them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started