K-Music Recap: June 21 – 27, 2021

Last week seemed quiet, but let me tell you…. it was not. Lots of smaller groups and artists made their comebacks over the week making last week as jam-packed as those with major releases. There were a fair few star releases from last week, namely A.C.E, sEODo Band and Sam Kim, carrying me safely through from start to finish. Let’s take a look through last week in music.

Disclaimer: I haven’t been able to write about every single release, but I do try to at least provide a link to the key songs released over the week. However in recent weeks, I have decided. to only recommend up to ten additional songs from each genre that I feel are not to be missed – otherwise these lists would go on forever. It is entirely likely that I will have missed many – drop me a comment with any tracks from the past week that you think I should not miss.

KPop

A.C.E (에이스) – Higher

MV note: I both hate and love it here – my favourite boys are serving up looks and powerful choreography (as usual) except I think they might have killed me in the process. Donghun bye

One of my most anticipated comebacks of last week has to be the long awaited return of 5-member A.C.E. This group are one of my favourites, and they like to make music with a statement sound. The group follow up the epic and subversive ‘Goblin (Favorite Boys)‘ with a change of pace and dynamic in ‘Higher’. This pop track possesses soft and delicate vocal-focused verses, but explodes into an energetic electro chorus, bringing with it plenty of that recognisable A.C.E energy and instrumental callbacks to their previous discography. Given that this song is quite the change from their recent bombastic singles, it is understandable that many would have begun to draw comparisons between this song and their 2019/2020 sound – I initially was one of those people. But once I understood that this new album was an intentional direction change, I came to appreciate ‘Higher’ for the solid, cohesive and beautiful listen that it is. Although A.C.E have released contemporary pop tracks in the past (‘Take Me Higher‘ is one of my favourites), this song still offers up a completely fresh style for the group, making for exciting listening. ‘Higher’ is a vocal treat from every single member, particularly Seyoon (!), as we hear tender fragility and bold melodies sit side by side, exemplifying such breadth of skill for this group. Maybe this song is not as immediately gripping as some of their other title tracks but ‘Higher’ is a song that has the power to grow and stay on playlists all year round. Fave Boys did not disappoint.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Favourite songs from the album [SIREN: DAWN]: Atlantis / Higher / Story

Stray Kids – 애 (MIXTAPE: OH)

MV note: WHY did this MV make my heart flutter with warmth – it’s so sweet. Also the first person perspective of Felix in the convenience store – I clutched my chest

Although Stray Kids are always busy doing everything under the sun – most recently appearing on the Mnet competition show ‘Kingdom‘ – it has been a while since their last official release: September’s fantastic ‘Back Door‘. This new release is a mixtape digital single, and not only is it their first actual song release in ages (SKZ Player doesn’t count), it also marks the return of Hyunjin after his lengthy hiatus (I didn’t really read into his hiatus much but it’s nice to see his face). Rather than continue with the same bold and brash sounds that have won them popularity over the past year, the team opt for a softer mid-tempo pop track with an electro/EDM architecture that helps the song move along with a subtle groove. Despite the softer shade, the song sounds distinctively SKZ, with familiar pre-chorus melodic patterns that hark back to B-sides from their early career. Vocally, every member gets to make more of a mark than usual – I was particularly delighted hearing Minho (Lee Know) singing in the chorus, and, of course, I have fallen deeply for Seungmin’s clear and distinct vocal tone. Even Jisung (Han) and Changbin manage to showcase their trademark rap tones among the more tender instrumentation. I know that a lot of newer SKZ fans aren’t used to hearing this side to their music, so might see this as a shock, but for me this song is an absolute delight and reminds me of some of that 2018 sound that I fell for. Despite loving this, it is clear that this is more of a filler track, so with this in the bag, I really look forward to what is on the horizon!

Rating: 4 out of 5.

YEZI (예지) – Secreto

MV note: Not only does this MV’s juttery nature give me a bit of a headache, it is also VERY RISQUEEEE MY GOSH

Following an active 2020, ex-FIESTAR rapper YEZI brings us her next new single ‘Secreto’, the follow-up to December’s ‘Raining All Night‘. Last year saw YEZI experiment with lots of different musical styles and sounds, with every single sounding distinctly different from the last. ‘Secreto’ does the same again, this time bringing us a lower tempo, smooth and sultry latin-inspired instrumental (I’m enjoying all of the classical guitar accompaniments) which YEZI adds her aspirated tone to, creating mysteriously seductive melodies to accompany the sensual sound. Although this single is clear and cohesive in its direction and intention, and it also is quite the pleasant listen, I find the chorus hook to be quite repetitive in places, and the song lacks a little punch to make it a truly knockout track. So far I have liked all of YEZI’s solo releases, some more than others, and some (like her last release) grew on me more over time. ‘Secreto’ is a pretty good song and one that clearly shows off a different side to YEZI’s skills, but I’m not too sure about its longevity on my speakers. However this song is a definite earworm so whether you can get it out of your head after you listen to it is a different story.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

WOOSUNG (김우성) – Lazy (feat. Reddy)

MV note: Still makes me laugh that JRE is in this – go get it! I really like how they brought Reddy into the MV virtually too – it was a very smart concept. Plus Sammy dancing – I actually live and love to see it

Sammy is back! When Sammy (Woosung of The Rose) opened his YouTube channel earlier this month and cryptically commented, “Thank you for waiting patiently through tough times. You won’t have to wait much longer now.” I couldn’t have imagined that he meant he was releasing new music WITHIN THE MONTH – we are truly blessed…. this household has missed Sammy’s instantly recognisable vocals. Like with some of Sammy’s previous solo music, ‘Lazy’ follows a more clear-cut pop route than the music he makes with his group, blending a synth backdrop into the song to bring dreamy, ethereal sounds with it, matching the lower tempo lazy vibe perfectly. The song feels sleepy and relaxed, much like the song’s namesake, with a slow and steady pacing, only energised by the drum track flourishes and Sammy’s textured and passionate vocal tone. Reddy’s addition, to me, doesn’t seem to flow with the song seamlessly and, although I really like Reddy, I almost feel like his contribution didn’t bring anything significant to the table here. Although this song resonates with me on a deep level because of its meaningful context and lyrics, the composition is a little on the reserved side for me, but I find the chilled instrumental and Sammy’s hypnotising vocal extremely endearing, and that’s not to mention some of the lyrics – “I’m so sick of shaving”…. classic. The closing lyrics of the song leave a pretty lasting impression too (go listen and you’ll see what I mean). Regardless, I’m just delighted to have this exceptional, much-missed voice back on the speakers!

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Pink Fantasy – Poison (독)

Note: I need someone to confirm the theory of why Daewang wears a mask – is it really that they want to have more mystery by having a masked member? Is it because she has anxiety and wishes to remain hidden? Is it because she’s actually the company’s CEO and is in her 30’s so they’re hiding her face? The theories are wild.

Disclaimer: I don’t really know a lot about Pink Fantasy as their music hasn’t always stuck with me very much, aside from the rock-ready ‘Fantasy‘ which I remember being quite captivating. After yet another line-up change, the group are back with that same rock sound that they tinkered with in 2019, but step it up a few gears with ‘Poison’. Of course when it comes to metal concepts in girl groups, most would immediately think of Dreamcatcher, so many people will draw comparisons but this song goes even deeper and darker than even Dreamcatcher would dare. We’re talking full on hardcore in places with even a screamo element after the chorus (it took me by surprise). The brisk, frantic nature of the instrumental creates quite anxious energy that fits with the group’s concept (and is only further emphasised by all of Daewang’s creepy masks) but on top of those heavy guitars and angsty energy are some exceptionally clear vocals which come together wonderfully through the chorus. I was a bit of a screamo fan in my teenage years so it doesn’t surprise me that I like this style of song, but I am surprised by just how much I like it. Having not really clicked with Pink Fantasy’s releases in the past, ‘Posion’ is truly an unexpected gem from the week. I don’t know if Pink Fantasy will carry on with this musical direction moving forwards, but I’m just here to say that this is the best that they have put out to date.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Other notable releases

TXT – 0X1=LOVESONG (I Know I Love You) (feat. pH-1, Woodie Gochild, Seori)
Onestar (임한별) – Heart of you, Story of you (사랑한다 말로는 담을 수 없는 너)
Baek Z Young (백지영) – Because you’re shining like a star (빛나는 너이니까)

TXT’s original version of this song is a huge hit in my books (review here) so to hear that my favourite rapper pH-1 and label mate Woodie Gochild were featuring on a remix of this was a happy surprise. As the song opened, I was vibing to the acoustic switch-up, then suddenly pH-1’s recognisable tone bursts through and swept me away. His tone is one that so perfectly matches this kind of indie rock track and his distinctive rap syncopations inject neat melodic flow into the verses, while Woodie Gochild’s verse brings unique texture change. I like that this new version kept the best bits of the original (the rousing chorus and Seori’s crisp vocals) but brought a completely fresh twist to the table. This is a new take that has been done really well and feels like a whole new song.

Lim Hanbyul (better known as Onestar) is an artist who is often renowned for bringing his stunningly emotive voice to some of our favourite OST’s. New song ‘Heart of you, story of you’ is another collaboration release, this time for the book ‘그게 너였으면 좋겠다’, and sees him step away from moving ballad singles and back into folk pop to match the summer sound. Even with the brighter and sprightlier sound, Onestar still wows with his awe-inspiring vocal stability and recognisable vocal tone, spinning comforting and memorable melodies through the music (the chorus is just lovely to listen to). Even though Onestar never fails to wow me on ballad tracks, he has a vocal tone that is perfectly suited to pop and will transform even the simplest song into magic.

Famed singer songwriter Baek Z Young is back with new single ‘Because you’re shining like a star’, which is the latest instalment in the ‘Him-na song Label Project’. Him-na song [힘나쏭] loosely translates to ‘cheering up song’ and this new single certainly exudes a feeling of hope and optimism with the tender but bright instrumental and Baek Z Young’s powerful and dedicated delivery. She sings the positive melodies with such passion and fervour that it is impossible not to feel captivated and caught up in the song and its easy-flowing nature. Despite holding all the bare bones of a ballad song, the sprightly drum track and Baek Z Young’s happy vocal delivery help to make this such sweet summer listening. A certain success for a cheer up song if you ask me.

ARIAZ (아리아즈) – I LIKE U
MAJORS – Obvious
JEONG MIN (정민) – AFRICA

‘I LIKE U’ is ARIAZ’s first comeback since their 2019 debut ‘Moonlight Aria‘ (why has it taken so long? – I mean, probably COVID) and they make their grand return with a remake single of Jewelry’s 2003 track ‘I Really Like You‘ (I’m telling you, 2021 is the year of remakes). Despite the girls really making this song their own, they certainly don’t lose the charm of the original. The members bring this timeless composition into the modern era, giving this nostalgic first generation sound a bubbly, fresh feel. I’m hoping that this will gain the group attention from KPop fans across the generations as ‘I LIKE U’ is genuinely delightful to listen to. Though it is somewhat amusing that Star Empire made their new group release a song of an old Star Empire group.

Rookie girl group MAJORS are back with the third instalment in their ‘The beginning of legend’ single album series, the title track of which is ‘Obvious’. I don’t know how this group have managed to release increasingly more frustrating songs over time, but each subsequent release puzzles me more. More so than in their previous singles, the production is really poor – the mixing is bad and the members’ vocals come off as dampened and hollow. The composition itself isn’t terrible, it has just has been executed horribly – though I do wonder what the synth riff in the chorus is because that sounds exactly like a popular house song. Most frustratingly, their B-sides seem to be far better than their title tracks so who is making decisions here?

Straight off the back of Boyfriend’s 10 year anniversary single which was released late last month (review here), our iconic Boyfriend vocalist is back with new single ‘AFRICA’, a song which finally serves up some upbeat pop. The benefit of hearing this kind of up-tempo funk from Jeongmin is that, for once, he doesn’t need to restrain his voice to match a softer instrumental, instead dishing up plenty of that strong vocal power that we have been missing, and throwing in tonnes of ad libs and creative vocal flourishes too (that scat section at the end – exceptional!). This song gives me all of the groove that I’m looking for and really gets me dancing. It is my favourite of Jeongmin’s recent releases and is a clear indication that, pop is Jeongmin’s home.

K-R&B/Hip-Hop

Xydo (시도) – Paradigm

Mv note: Who styled him? You deserve a medal

GROOVL1N vocalist Xydo is still one of my favourite finds from the past few years – there is something about the quality and shade of his vocal tone that wins me over each time. So, to see the arrival of a new album was treat. ‘Paradigm’ sees Xydo continue with the softer R&B style that he excels at – using his hypnotic, enchanting vocals to bring a chilled indie instrumental to life. As the guitars pluck along gently, Xydo uses his soulful tone to weave magical melodies into the music, with each note feeling soothing and rolling over the speakers with smooth and effortless precision. Every time I listen to it, I find myself swept away in the dreamy aura of the song, but constantly find myself captivated by the outro – the way the production cans Xydo’s voice, only to suddenly take the effects off, jolts the listener back to reality in the final moments of the song and it leaves a lasting impression every time. ‘Paradigm’ doesn’t necessarily bring us a fresh new approach to music, nor does it experiment with the unknown, but instead Xydo pushes on the genre that he does best and brings us an album full of stunning, relaxing and comforting slow jams. This is definitely an album for those soul-filled evenings – it honestly has no skips.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Favourite songs from the album [CYCLE]: Flower (feat. Yoon Juae) / Paradigm / Reborn

OVAN (오반) – I Am Yours (허리춤)

Mv note: I always feel so uncomfy watching his MV’s like I’m intruding on his relationship haha

Romantic Factory singer Ovan has been near the top of my radar over the past year for consistently releasing excellent singles in his own endearing R&B-indie style, and the Korean public seem to agree, as he is an artist who continuously finds himself in the Melon Top 100. Ovan adds to his growing discography with new single ‘I Am Yours’, a song which sees him leave behind the sleepy indie sounds of ‘I’m Fine’ (review here) and return to the mid-tempo R&B shades that he has perfected in the past. He brings us a sweet, memorable chorus hook with his light vocal, capturing listeners’ attention instantly, while he introduces flourishes of melodic rap into the first verse.. Once again, this is a song that really shows off a breadth of skills for this artist, from vocals to rap (although I would have liked to hear some of his fuller vocal tone shine through as he has a wonderfully stable and soulful full voice), and when it is packaged up in this addictive format it is so easy to fall for. This isn’t Ovan’s most impressive release in terms of creativity but it is catchy and holds a certain charm that means it is a track I will definitely keep coming back to.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

SOLE – Why (왜) (feat. Gaeko)

Amoeba Culture artist SOLE is back with her first non-soundtrack release of 2021, and this comes in the form of downtempo single ‘Why’. The song opens with poignant acoustic guitar plucking – a favoured sound in slower R&B tracks of late – which SOLE adds her stunningly distinctive vocal texture to, bringing endless amounts of soul with her semi-aspirated tone. SOLE entrances as she guides us through the first verse with such effortless sincerity, leading us into the chorus where the dynamic of the track builds with the introduction of. the drum track. Amoeba Cultre co-CEO Gaeko takes this one step further, bringing passion with his expert rap flow and trademark energy. ‘Why’ is a song that keeps layering and building in sound and momentum as it goes and it continues to impress and enchant at every turn. SOLE’s vocal has never failed to impress me but this is a song that really matches her vocal shade and one that sticks in my mind with each listen, making ‘Why’ yet another winning single among her already strong discography.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

K-Indie

sEODo BAND (서도밴드) – City Lights

MV note: Silky yellow shirts with frills are a choice – they all look so retro suave, but why does Jaehyun (vocalist) pull it off really well? I feel like he can wear a sack and still look incredible

My favourite fusion (Joseon Pop) group have rebranded from sEODo to sEODo BAND, now recognising the talented group of instrumentalists who also make up this exceptional team – a team who have been carrying me through the past year and longer. sEODo BAND have just released their first album as a band and it feels like a monumental milestone – one which can be celebrated by the groovy title track ‘City Lights’. The band manage to make this mid-tempo single sound exciting with the intermittent chorus vocals, funky bassline and thrilling guitar riffs, and that’s without even mentioning Jaehyun’s distinctive and unique vocal stylings. Although this is the most mainstream song on the album, it is still a hugely creative composition and it certainly shows the diverse range of styles that can be included in their new self-titled genre. I adore the entire sEODo and sEODo BAND discography – there is not a single skip in the entire collection. There is only high praise from over here so….. I recommend listening to the album. However I do recognise that Joseon Pop might not be for everyone – in any case, ‘City Lights’ is a song that I’m certain everyone will love and be grooving to all summer.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Favourite song from the album [Moon: Disentangle]: City Lights / Boat-song

Sam Kim – The Juice

MV note: SAM KIM DANCING – I mean I saw him playing Just Dance 2 so this was a sight I was not expecting.

Sam Kim is right up there as one of my favourite singer-songwriters at the moment – all of his releases are real bops, his vocal tone is captivating, and his albums are constantly a mainstay on my speakers. But as of late we have only been fed crumbs to sustain us so I always devour these with eager anticipation. As soon as the samba vibe of the intro opens and we hear Sam’s recognisable voice, you can just tell that ‘The Juice’ is going to be yet another exciting creative exploration for Sam. Sam Kim is one of those artists who can expertly blend his indie roots with his soulful R&B vocals and sprinkle a healthy dose of a pop vibe in too, creating a crossover track overflowing with funk. Not only does the instrumental exude endless amounts of groove and show lots of experimental corners, but the vocal layering here also creates a full and flavourful feeling, adding numerous ad libs and showing the impressive range of Sam’s skills (are you hearing that falsetto in the chorus, and also that rap prowess?!). Sam Kim is an incredibly talented guy and never fails to release music that speaks to my soul . If ‘The Juice’ is what we get when we have to wait a little longer for music – I’m happy to wait.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Jukjae (적재) – Warm (따듯해)

In recent years, Jukjae has really been diversifying his sound by releasing a broad range of singles that play to each of his individual strengths and favoured genres. This time he opts to follow a blues path, gifting us a single that mixes his smooth and delicate vocal tone with a light R&B-influenced indie instrumental. The tender synth and gentle guitar twangs of the instrumental create a soft backdrop which Jukjae uses to serenade us with in this alternative ballad track. ‘Warm’ feels like a warm comforting hug, much like its title, and Jukjae’s silky vocal delivery gives off a sweet, tender feeling perfect for a lullaby. Despite enjoying the feeling of this song in the moment, it is not his most memorable release as there aren’t many standout melodies in this composition, but it still brings a sense of calm to my ears with each listen, and his raw, honest vocals always give off an extremely endearing vibe,

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Other notable releases

No Brain, AHN YE EUN (안예은) – I’m Flying (나는 우주) 
LEE SEUNG YOON (이승윤) _ Unspoken (들려주고 싶었던)
Jeong DongHwan (정동환) (MeloMance) – Flowering

Revered punk rock band No Brain have teamed up with unique vocalist Ahn Ye Eun, whose voice adds a recognisable traditional pansori inflection to any song she works on. This collaboration brings together two very distinct sounds and crafts a really gritty low tempo indie rock track in the process. No Brain vocalist Bulldaegal uses his gravelly tone to root the song in its rock genre, while Ahn Ye Eun’s unique vocal stylisations bring the sound back into the Joseon Punk vibes of the early days No Brain sound. This is a stunning listen, if a little on the slow and sleepy side, but impressive nonetheless.

Lee Seungyoon, lead vocalist of band Alary-Kanson, and winner of JTBC’s audition programme ‘Sing Again’, has released his first non-OST single since winning the show (he sings the impeccable ‘We Are‘ from the ‘Law School‘ OST). ‘Unspoken’ is an upbeat pop-rock track which shows off Seungyoon’s natural, passionate rock vocal and fun, lively energy. The song bounces along with brisk pacing, making for happy listening, and gives us insight into what he was like as the frontman of his band. Seungyoon was born to make rock hits and with ‘Unspoken’ he brings a feel-good energy to the summer.

Jeong Donghwan, one half of popular duo MeloMance (I miss them as a team) and our trusted pianist, has brought out his first solo album ‘White’ – an eleven track album full of breathtaking piano compositions. Not only has Donghwan provided the instrumentation for memorable MeloMance tracks, but he has also done so for many of our other favourite KPop artists. People seem to always overlook the instrumentalists, so this album is finally an opportunity to show off what a talented musician he is in his own right and compose and cover some comforting music for easy listening.

20 Years of Age (스무살) – Love Flows (지나가요) (Duet with Choi Yu Ree (최유리))
IGWI (이구이) – Thank you, dear (고마워 그대)
It’s (이츠) – childhood of the sea (모두의 바다) (Feat. 소운)

Singer-songwriter 20 Years of Age is back with another new single, this time a pop ballad duet with vocalist Choi Yu Ree. 20 Years of Age’s clear, powerful vocal tone takes us through emotional melodies, while Choi Yu Ree’s stunningly textured tone brings extra grit and realism to the music. Together, both artists’ distinct tones shine in equal quantities, playing off each other to provide different shades through the delicate instrumentation. This is a beautiful ballad track but one that I was not expecting for 20 Years of Age through this summer season – I’m so used to his bright indie-pop sounds.

IGWI has been releasing music that toes the line between indie and pop for some time, sometimes even making pure fun-filled pop. New single ‘Thank you, dear’ leans more into gentle acoustic-pop which IGWI lends her soothing vocal tone to, crafting delicate but optimistic melodies. This is dalkom coffee music to perfection, reminding me of happy spring-summer afternoons, so is a wonderful song for this season, even if a little simple in its construction. That cascading guitar ripple that pops up every now and then…. does every folk artist use that now? Because I hear it everywhere.

Although I didn’t find out about It’s until quite recently, she has been creating music for a number of years now, lending her dreamy, ethereal vocal to a string of varied indie styles. New single ‘childhood of the sea’ is a downtempo track full of magical instrumental additions, culminating in an extraordinary backdrop for her to sing her lullaby-esque melodies to. The harp flourishes and keyboard interjections send listeners floating into another world while her captivating vocal mesmerises. A slow song for the summer, but one that will send you into a happy hypnosis.

K-Ballad

Han Dong Geun (한동근) – Rain Falls (비가 내려요)

BRANDNEW MUSIC balladeer Han Dong Geun is back with new single ‘Rain Falls’, and as expected it is another truly stunning ballad track. The song opens with such tenderness and fragility, but continues to grow and build, revealing Dong Geun’s impressively clear and poignant vocal tone as the song progresses. His timbre at his full voice always impresses me, and the way he effortlessly plays with vocal dynamics can be expertly seen in the choruses of ‘Rain Falls’ and in the exceptional bridge (I live for power notes in the bridges of ballads – they actually give me life – and this song has a fantastic bridge!). Even though I really like this song and continue to marvel at how skilled a singer Dong Geun is, this isn’t the most moving of ballads to have been released this season, nor is it the most memorable, but I really enjoy the listening experience with each play nonetheless.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Jin Minho (진민호) – First Love Is A Lie (첫사랑은 거짓말이다)

Singer-songwriter Jin Minho is back with the follow-up single to his January release ‘Hate Love Songs‘, this time with another equally as sad song title ‘First Love Is a Lie’ (who hurt this guy?). As soon as he presses the first key on his piano and breathes out that first aspirated note, you know that this is going to be a heart-wrenching ballad track, and it most certainly hits that sweet spot. Jin Minho’s clear-cut vocal starts off with a slight pop shade in the verses but builds into a stable, knockout full voice through the pre-chorus and chorus, reminding me a little of a Ryeowook from Super Junior’s vocal range. His seamless ability to move from soft and delicate delivery to outstanding pure power is breathtaking and blows me away through every moment of this song. Not only is his vocal skill exemplary here, but the melodies that he sings are touching and memorable and have buried their way into my heart. Just a little fun fact for anyone who doesn’t know Jin Minho but knows KPop really well – he is a singer-songwriter who most recently wrote the title track ‘Back To You‘ for WayV-KUN&XIAOJUN (review here), so a big thank you to Jin Minho for always writing music that speaks to my heart.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Trot

OUTLET – You make me crazy (돌아버리겠네)

Here we have it – the debut of a new fusion trot group, and I for one couldn’t be more excited! OUTLET, a group made up of Park Seongyeon (who recently competed on Miss Trot), Kwon Younggi (a comedian) and Ahn Sunghoon (a trot singer who also appeared on Mr Trot), aren’t like the regular trot group that you might think of and, much like Super Five, they seek to modernise the trot sound by merging it with a classic pop feel. When everyone has been crying out for cheesy, tongue-in-cheek summer anthems, OUTLET have stepped up to deliver, giving us a fun-filled upbeat track that you will certainly be bouncing around to. The chorus hook is bright and catchy and the vocals remain crisp with a hint of trot stylisation. This is almost entirely a pop track save for the comedic aspects and the minor vocal inflections that Sunghoon peppers in throughout, so I’m sure that it will win over pop fans, even those who think that trot isn’t their thing. How can you NOT love this? I keep putting it on repeat – it is just so much fun.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

OST Links

Doom At Your Service (어느 날 우리 집 현관으로 멸망이 들어왔다)

Sondia – This Is Love
SEO IN GUK (서인국) – Distant Fate (아득한 먼 훗날 우리가) 

At a Distance, Spring Is Green (멀리서 보면 푸른 봄)

Park Ji Hoon (박지훈) – Talk to me (말만 해) 

So I Married The Anti-Fan (그래서 나는 안티팬과 결혼했다)

Romin (로민) [E’LAST] – Starlight

Hospital Playlist 2 (슬기로운 의사생활 2)

Kim Daemyung (김대명) – In Front Of The Post Office In Autumn

Also check out:

KIM BO YOUNG (김보영) – RUN | Webdrama: 300 Year-Old Class of 2020 (삼백살 20학번)
SATURDAY – Come to Me (다가와 줘) | Webdrama: 향기로운 우연

Header image credit: Beat Interactive; Doom At Your Service image credit: Viki; My Roommate is a Gumiho image credit: KDrama Stars; At a Distance, Spring is Green image credit: Soompi; Monthly Magazine Home image credit: MyMusicTaste; So I Married the Anti-Fan image credit: OtakuKart; Hospital Playlist 2 image credit: Finance Rewind; Nevertheless image credit: OtakuKart; Imitation image credit: Soompi; Voice 4 image creidt: Soompi.

3 thoughts on “K-Music Recap: June 21 – 27, 2021

  1. Your below embedded video commentary always makes me laugh lol. Quality content.

    SOOOO glad you loved A.C.E, I’m still confused why Beat decided to upload the video onto 1theK instead of their own channel but at least it’s good to know these are like their highest sales ever. Let’s go (favourite) boys. Jun and Donghun need to be sued. What even. Who allowed that.

    The mask theories! ✋🏻😭 I am IN TEARS. What if it really was their CEO? Now you planted a seed of suspicion into my mind. The song is a banger though, glad you liked it too!

    I can’t wait to check out all the songs I haven’t heard which you included here after work and crying over Doom at your service finale tomorrow cause I’m sure I’ll like most of them. 😍💃🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I was SEARCHING for the non-1theK version of the video and was so baffled??? But I guess at least it reaches a wider audience? Feel like the big break is on the horizons. I pray. Each and every A.C.E concept is designed to murder fans – who are the stylists??? Jun…. can’t even look at him ahhaa

      This mask…. I was searching in comments for reason and saw some wild responses so now I really don’t know what to think. Not sure about how thrilled I was at the creepy animal skull mask lol 🤣🤣🤣

      Omg you must listen to sEODo BAND (low key over here promoting them like it’s my paid job), I feel like you’ll like it. Hope you enjoy some of the other releases!

      Also! I must be the only person not watching Doom At Your Service, I feel so left out and I only have myself to blame. I wasn’t sure if it would be for me, but I’ll wait to see if you guys do a review of it hahaha (you are my source for drama recommendations that I am not sure about)

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started